

Commonwealth of Virginia General Assembly

RICHMOND

June 3, 2024

The Honorable Glenn Youngkin Governor Patrick Henry Building 1111 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23218

Governor Youngkin:

The 2024-26 biennial budget adopted by the General Assembly that you signed into law on May 13, 2024 included nearly \$40 million to support waivers including the Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents Education Program (VMSDEP). The funding was part of efforts by both the executive and legislative branches to address the significant program growth in VMSDEP both in terms of enrollment and waiver costs. In addition to the increased funding, the budget included several targeted program reforms to help mitigate the impact of the waivers on tuition-paying students, especially our in-state undergraduates. Most importantly, the reforms were intended to preserve the long-term sustainability of the VMSDEP in order to continue serving future military families.

We understood that in order to minimize any disruption to current program participants and military families, a provision to "grandfather in" students already enrolled in VMSDEP or new students formally committed by May 15, 2024 to enroll in summer or fall 2024 courses was added.

The grandfather clause effectively allows for current and new students for the coming summer or fall 2024 to be exempt from the reform measures. Additionally, the appropriation under the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia provides flexibility to cover financial aid waiver costs granted to students to allow time for a more deliberative process for the task force established under Executive Directive Seven (2024) to complete its work and provide meaningful recommendations for consideration by the 2025 Session of the General Assembly.

The Honorable Glenn Youngkin June 3, 2024 Page 2 of 2

We appreciate your willingness to work collaboratively on this vital issue and preserve the program's fiscal integrity and continued viability of the program for our military families.

Sincerely,

Luke E. Torian, Chair

House Appropriations Committee

Zuke E. Dorian

L. Louise Lucas, Chair

Senate Finance & Appropriations Committee